Is the Whopper Vegan?

burger king
When you hear Whopper, you think of Burger King. But, for some of you, when you hear the word “Whop,” you may be thinking of “Cardi B.” For the sake of this article, it is all about BK. Burger King has just stepped up their game by adding a plant-based Impossible Whopper Burger to their menu. After testing in select business sectors, the cheap food chain has begun revealing its new plant-based Whopper across the country.
The Impossible Whopper began testing in St. Louis not long ago, which drove Burger King to rapidly “test in additional markets with the intention of nationwide distribution by the end of the year,” the chain disclosed to USA Today. Considering the hype, I believe the Impossible Whopper has received a lot of attention from vegans and meat-eaters.
Burger King claims, “you can have it your way,” but were they talking about vegans? Let us find out.

What is the Impossible Whopper?

bk whopper

The Impossible Whopper is a plant-based protein burger from Burger King's famous Whopper sandwich, made with an Impossible burger patty. It appears to look just like the regular Whopper, which tastes just as good, if not better.

What Does it Take to Make an Impossible Whopper?

img 0033

The Impossible Whopper incorporates all that goes with a regular Whopper: a quarter-pound patty, tomatoes, lettuce, mayonnaise, ketchup, pickles, white onions, on a sesame seed bun. Silicon Valley-Based Impossible Foods created the Impossible Whopper. The burger patty uses heme, a protein from the foundations of soy plants that create a substantial flavor, a few oils (counting coconut and sunflower oil), and different added substances.

In any case, instead of the typical charbroiled beef Whopper, vegans have a choice to get the Impossible burger patty, which comprises of the unique ingredients that make the Impossible burger patty taste so meat-like.

Is the Impossible Whopper Vegan or Vegetarian Friendly?

The Impossible Whopper ordered as-is on the menu would be acceptable for vegetarians but not for vegans because of the mayonnaise, cheese, and possibly the sesame seed bun. Through our research, 7 Day A Week Veganology discovered that the employees of Burger King could not confirm if the infamous sesame seed bun used for Whoppers are indeed vegan friendly. Vegans, until further notice, to be on the safe side, if you want to turn your Impossible patty into an Impossible burger, then you would have to ask for the potato bun because they do not offer it. And, you would have to exclude the cheese and mayonnaise. But, if you know that you are going to the fast-food chain to dine in, you can always bring your condiments in a small insulated container with you.

img 0032

How Many Calories Does the Impossible Whopper Have?

img 0035
According to Burger King, the Impossible burger has a Whopping 630 calories. On the back of the placemats, Burger King has included a nutrition information chart and an allergy chart. If you decide to eat from Burger King, you may want to pick up a copy of the charts, or you can download the copies at https://company.bk.com/pdfs/nutrition.pdf.

5 Issues Vegans Have with Burger King

1. Fear of cross-contamination.

2. The same grill is used that cook beef and the Impossible burger patties.

3. The Impossible burger is not vegan friendly because of the dairy products.

4. The staff is not knowledgeable about what they are serving.

5. The Impossible Whopper is not a vegan-friendly burger if it does not have vegan cheese and mayo.

img 0034

The Best Impossible Burger

img 0037
The best Impossible burger for vegans is the one that you make a home. The great thing about doing it at home is that you can make it your way. You can add plant-based cheddar cheese, with plant-based mayonnaise and red onions, all of the things that you cannot get from Burger King. When you make an Impossible burger at home, there is no need for the fries and coke when you have a side of grilled asparagus and homemade plant-based cheesy mashed potatoes, Yum! Now that “Mission is an Impossible Burger.”
If you decide not to make the Impossible burger at home, but your mouth is still watering for one, with all of the bells and whistles, then your best option would be to order it from a 100% vegan restaurant.​
img 0036
I hope you found this article helpful. Feel free to let me know did you tried the Impossible Whopper
Don’t miss out on>> Can Pregnant Women Be Vegan?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top