Have you ever wondered what foods are considered vegan and which ones are not? Depending on who you ask, you may get a different response most of the time. Let me tell you the 5 Steps to Finding Out What Foods are Vegan. No need to fret any longer, help has arrived. There is an app that makes grocery shopping for vegan foods and drinks much easier than in the past. The name of the app is “Is It Vegan.” Having this app allows you to know what you are buying before you buy.
Often times the foods and beverages that you consumes contain ingredients that are difficult to pronounce and they aren’t good for your overall health. A way to avoid buying unhealthy foods and beverages is to know what you are buying ahead of time and the “Is It Vegan?” app helps to do just that. You no longer have to wonder if the foods and beverages that you are buying are plant-based, the app provides enough information to determine what foods are vegan, and it lists the ingredients.
How to Find Vegan Food
The first thing you will need to do is go to the app store on your mobile device or tablet. In, the search bar type “Is It Vegan?” When the app appears press open. Now it is ready for use.
Locate the UPC code on the packaging. You have the option to manually enter the code. Or simply scan it by pressing Scan which allows the camera to open.
Place the code beneath the red line within the bottom portion of the green square box. When the item has been identified there will be a single beep that indicates the name of the product. It also categorizes it as one of the following:
- Definitely vegan
- Not sure
- Probably vegan
Place the code beneath the red line within the bottom portion of the green square box. When the item has been identified there will be a single beep that indicates the name of the product and categorizes it as one of the following:
Click on the setting buttons. At this point, you can choose to include sugar as one of your ingredients by pressing the button, it will then turn red. Or, you can choose to eliminate sugar by not pressing the button. This will allow you to know which foods and beverages contain sugar and which ones do not.
A funny story. I went to a popular restaurant chain and ordered a plant-based burger. I asked, “if the bread was plant-based too?” The waitress did not know, who then asked the cook who did not know, who then asked the restaurant manager who did not know. But, the hilarious part of it all was that the manager handed me the pack of bread and had me read the ingredients to find out if it was plant-based.
At that moment I realized that things had just got serious when the people who work at the restaurant did not know what they were serving. But it made me realize that it is my responsibility to be in the know of what goes into my body. It is not the clerk at the supermarket or the cook at the restaurant, it is “I” who is in control of my mind and body. Are you in control of yours?
Make sure to also check out >> Do vegans eat eggs?